grammy awards

Selena Among 2021 Grammy Lifetime Achievement Honorees

The Recording Academy announced the honorees for the 2021 Special Merit Awards, awarding Lifetime Achievement Awards to Grandmaster Flash & The Furious Five, Lionel Hampton, Marilyn Horne, Salt-N-Pepa, Selena, and Talking Heads. The Recording Academy also named Ed Cherney, Benny Golson, and Kenny “Babyface” Edmonds as Trustees Award honorees; and Daniel Weiss is the Technical Grammy Award recipient.

The honorees will be recognized on the 63rd Annual Grammy Awards on January 31, 2021 on CBS. Given the challenges imposed by the COVID-19 pandemic, more details about the special award presentation event will be announced at a later date.

“As we welcome the new class of Special Merit Award honorees, it gives us a chance to reward and recognize the influence they’ve had in the music community regardless of genre,” said Harvey Mason jr., Interim President/CEO of the Recording Academy. “As a music creator and music lover, I am grateful that we are able to look back at our influences and see the impact that they have made on our community. In a year where music has helped keep us together, I look forward to honoring this iconic group of music creators.”

The Lifetime Achievement Award celebrates performers who have made outstanding contributions of artistic significance to the field of recording, while the Trustees Award honors such contributions in areas other than performance.

The Recording Academy’s National Board of Trustees determines the honorees of both awards. Technical Grammy Award recipients are voted on by the Academy’s Producers & Engineers Wing Advisory Council and Chapter Committees, and are ratified by the Academy’s Trustees. The award is presented to individuals and companies who have made contributions of outstanding technical significance to the recording industry.

Subscribe to Daily Updates and never miss a headline.

Related Posts