AMC announced a renewal for “The Walking Dead” at New York Comic-Con over the weekend. The show is returning for an eleventh season, and the network also confirmed that Lauren Cohan, who plays Maggie Greene, is coming back as a series regular. Executive producers Scott M. Gimple and Angela Kang made the announcement at the show’s NYCC panel, and Cohan joined the show’s executive producers and cast on stage to celebrate the news. The show just premiered its Season 10 episode on October 6th.

Over the last ten seasons, “The Walking Dead” is the highest-rated series on ad-supported cable television. The show has a spinoff called “Fear the Walking Dead,” and another spinoff series from Chief Content Officer Scott M. Gimple and TWD veteran writer and producer Matt Negrete is on the way as well. The franchise is also putting together a “The Walking Dead Movie,” which will star Andrew Lincoln.

“The Walking Dead burst out of the gate ten years ago as a genre show that had all the character depth of a top-tier prestige drama,” said Sarah Barnett, President of AMC Networks Entertainment Group & AMC Studios. “And now ten years later – led by the brilliant Angela Kang and fueled by one of the most consistently talented casts in television – this phenomenon is flourishing creatively, with critics and audiences embracing its reset. We’re delighted to welcome back Lauren Cohan, she has meant so much to this show and its passionate, global fanbase, who are in for a fantastic ride over the coming months.”

The series is based on the comic book series written by Robert Kirkman and published by Image Comics. “The Walking Dead” tells the story of the months and years after a zombie apocalypse and follows a group of survivors who travel in search of a safe and secure home.

The show is executive produced by Chief Content Officer Scott M. Gimple, Showrunner Angela Kang, Robert Kirkman, Gale Anne Hurd, Dave Alpert, Greg Nicotero, Joseph Incaprera and Denise Huth. The series stars Norman Reedus, Melissa McBride, Danai Gurira, Josh McDermitt, Christian Serratos, Jeffrey Dean Morgan, Ross Marquand, Khary Payton, Seth Gilliam, Avi Nash, Callan McAuliffe, Cooper Andrews, Eleanor Matsuura, Nadia Hilker, Cailey Fleming, Samantha Morton, Ryan Hurst, Cassady McClincy and Lauren Ridloff.

Subscribe to Daily Updates and never miss a headline.