IFC Films announced that the studio acquired the U.S. rights to Carlo Mirabella-Davis’ latest horror film “Swallow.” The movie held its world premiere at the Tribeca Film Festival this year and earned positive reviews while also winning the “Best Actress” Award for its lead, Haley Bennett. The movie also features Elizabeth Marvel, David Rasche, Laith Nakli, and Denis O’Hare. The studio announced that it will release “Swallow” in theaters in 2020.

In the film, Bennett plays a newly pregnant woman whose idyllic existence takes an alarming turn when she develops a compulsion to eat dangerous objects. As her husband (Austin Stowell) and his family tighten their control over her life, she is forced to confront the dark secret behind her uncontrollable obsession.

The studio talked about the movie in the announcement, adding, “Mirabella-Davis’ bold debut feature plays like a warped fairy tale, posing provocative questions about the expectations imposed on women, women’s control over their own bodies and the psychologically damaging effects of patriarchal culture.”

Arianna Bocco EVP of Acquisitions and Productions of IFC Films said, “Swallow is one of the most provocative and timely films we have seen yet this year with a star turning performance from Haley Bennett. We’re thrilled to introduce Carlo Mirabella-Davis to US audiences with this stunning first-time feature debut.”

“I’m incredibly thrilled to be working with IFC Films on my first feature! I’ve long admired all the brilliant, groundbreaking films they’ve brought to the world.” said Mirabella-Davis. “It’s been amazing sharing Swallow with festival audiences, and we can’t wait for a wider audience to see it.”

The deal for the film was negotiated by Arianna Bocco and Aijah Keith of IFC Films with CAA Media Finance and UTA Independent Film Group on behalf of the filmmakers.

“Swallow” was produced by Mollye Asher, Mynette Louie, Carole Baraton, and Frédéric Fiore. Bennett executive produced on the project, alongside Joe Wright, Constantin Briest, Yohann Comte, Pierre Mazars, Eric Tavitian, and Sam Bisbee.

Subscribe to Daily Updates and never miss a headline.