Disney’s “The Little Mermaid Live!’ is still on track to debut on November 5th on ABC and the network confirmed that two-time Emmy Award-nominated actor and producer John Stamos will star as the eccentric French cook, and that Graham Phillips will play Prince Eric. The big production has great cast behind it, including Auli’i Cravalho as Ariel, Queen Latifah as Ursula, and Shaggy as the tiny Sebastian.

Stamos made his Broadway debut in “How to Succeed in Business Without Really Trying,” before joining the casts of Tony Award-nominated “The Best Man,” and Tony Award-winning musicals “Nine” and “Cabaret,” among others. Phillips originated the role of Evan in Broadway’s “13,” which is being turned into a musical for Netflix. Tony Award winner Jason Robert Brown is composing all-new music for the movie, and Netflix also announced that Tony Award winner Robert Horn will adapt the script. Jason Robert Brown won three Tony Awards for his work on The Bridges of Madison County and Parade. Most recently, his off-Broadway musical The Last Five Years was adapted into a film starring Anna Kendrick and Jeremy Jordan.

“The Little Mermaid LIVE” will honor the 30th anniversary of the beloved animated classic through a hybrid format that will take viewers on a magical adventure under the sea as live musical performances by a star-studded cast are interwoven into the broadcast of the original feature film. The live musical event will feature intricate sets and costumes by three-time Emmy Award-winning designer, Zaldy, with music from the original animated film and the Tony Award-nominated Broadway stage version, originally composed by eight-time Oscar-winning composer, Alan Menken.

Howard Ashman’s iconic film lyrics will also be showcased, while lyricist for the Broadway adaptation, Glenn Slater, will contribute to the production as well. Choreographers Nick Florez and RJ Durrell, who recently completed work on P! nk’s The Beautiful Trauma World Tour, have also joined the project.

Subscribe to Daily Updates and never miss a headline.