HBO confirmed the extended voice cast for “His Dark Materials,” a new live-action series scheduled to premiere later this fall. The story is adapted from Philip Pullman’s award-winning trilogy of the same name (though you might know it as The Golden Compass Series) and follows Lyra, a brave young woman. Lyra is looking for her kidnapped friend and uncovers an evil plot involving stolen children, and a strange phenomenon called Dust.

The story also involves several talking magical animals. Some of these animals are daemons, and others are armored bears. Every human has a daemon in the series, which HBO describes as “the physical manifestation of a person’s soul and a reflection of their inner self.” The daemons are companions and friends, and they can change shape as the child grows, but eventually, they settle on one form.

HBO confirmed that Helen McCrory (Harry Potter) voices Stelmaria, Lord Asriel’s (McAvoy) daemon which is a Snow Leopard. David Suchet (Poirot) is Kaisa, gyrfalcon daemon to the witch Serafina Pekkala (played by Ruta Gedmintas). Aeronaut Lee Scoresby’s (Miranda) daemon is an arctic hare called Hester, voiced by American comedian Cristela Alonzo and Lyra Belacqua’s (Keen) unsettled daemon, Pantalaimon, is voiced by Kit Connor (Rocketman).

The network also announced that Mrs Coulter’s (Wilson) daemon, a Golden Monkey, doesn’t speak or have a name but his animal noises and vocal characteristics will be created by Brian Fisher (Detective Pikachu), who also serves as the lead puppeteer and CFX Coordinator on the series. HBO also stated that puppets were used on set to help the actors form a relationship with their daemon before being created in CGI by Framestore.

Iorek Byrnison, a bear who Lyra meets on her quest will be voiced by Joe Tandberg (The Innocents). In the frozen wilderness of the North exists a race of armored bears (or panserbjørne). Both skilled metal workers and fierce warriors, they have their own culture and laws.

The show stars James McAvoy, Ruth Wilson, Lin-Manuel Miranda, Anne-Marie Duff, Clarke Peters, Ariyon Bakare, Will Keen, Ian Gelder, Georgina Campbell, Lewin Lloyd, Lucian Msamati, James Cosmo, Daniel Frogson, Tyler Howitt, Ruta Gedmintas, Mat Fraser, Geoff Bell, and Simon Manyonda.

The show is produced by Bad Wolf and New Line Cinema for BBC One and HBO. Dan McCulloch, Jane Tranter, Joel Collins, Julie Gardner, Philip Pullman, Jack Thorne, Tom Hooper, Otto Bathhurst, Deborah Forte, Toby Emmerich, Carolyn Blackwood, Ben Irving, and Piers Wenger serve as executive producers on the project. If you missed the San Diego Comic-Con trailer that was released, you can watch the video below.

Subscribe to Daily Updates and never miss a headline.