Carrie Underwood and Imagine Dragons to Perform at 2018 AMAs

ABC confirms a few performances

Carrie Underwooddisney

ABC announced that superstar Carrie Underwood and the band Imagine Dragons will both be performers at the “2018 American Music Awards” this year. The network also confirmed that Post Malone and Ty Dolla $ign will hit the stage together for their first-ever AMA performance. The big event will be hosted by Tracee Ellis Ross and will broadcast live from the Microsoft Theater in Los Angeles on October 9th on ABC.

Underwood is a twelve-time American Music Award-winning artist, she is also a 2018 nominee in the Favorite Female Artist – Country category. Fans of the singer will want to watch her live as she hits the stage, this will be the first time that Underwood has performed since 2015. Underwood is scheduled to perform a song from her recently released sixth studio album, “Cry Pretty.” The album follows Underwood’s six earlier No. 1s on Billboard’s Top Country Albums chart.

As for Imagine Dragons, the band is a three-time American Music Award winner, and a 2018 nominee. The group will take the stage to perform their standalone single and Billboard Hot 100 track “Natural,” which has earned the No. 1 spot on Billboard’s Rock Airplay and Alternative Songs charts since its debut. The band includes lead vocalist Dan Reynolds, guitarist Wayne Sermon, bassist Ben McKee and drummer Daniel Platzman.

The nominations for the “2018 American Music Awards” were announced live by Kane Brown, Ella Mai, Normani and Bebe Rexha on September 12th, from YouTube Space LA. The favorites going into this year’s event are Cardi B and Drake, who lead this year’s nominees with eight possible wins. Ed Sheeran and Post Malone each earned six nominations this year, while Camila Cabello was nominated five times this year. If Cabello wins any of her categories, it would be her first AMA win as a solo artist.

The American Music Awards winners are voted entirely by fans. Voting is now open in all categories except New Artist of the Year, Favorite Social Artist, and Collaboration of the Year, which will all open on September 24th.