Star Wars fans got their first big announcement for “Star Wars: Episode IX” this week, the studio confirmed that the new installment will begin filming at London’s Pinewood Studios on August 1st and even named the main and returning cast.

This final installment to the new trilogy will be directed by J.J. Abrams, the same director that helped launch the new trilogy with “Star Wars: The Force Awakens”. Abrams co-wrote the screenplay to this film with Chris Terrio. Fans should also be happy to hear that John Williams will return for Episode IX as the film’s composer.

The returning cast members include Daisy Ridley, Adam Driver, John Boyega, Oscar Isaac, Lupita Nyong’o, Domhnall Gleeson, Kelly Marie Tran, Joonas Suotamo, and Billie Lourd. They will be joined by Naomi Ackie and Richard E. Grant. Also returning are Mark Hamill, Anthony Daniels, and Billy Dee Williams, who will reprise his role as Lando Calrissian for the final installment. One major addition is Carrie Fisher, as it wasn’t clear if the studio would use previous footage to help close out her story. It looks like the studio decided to do so, and the studio made the following announcement:

“The role of Leia Organa will once again be played by Carrie Fisher, using previously unreleased footage shot for Star Wars: The Force Awakens. “We desperately loved Carrie Fisher,” says Abrams. “Finding a truly satisfying conclusion to the Skywalker saga without her eluded us. We were never going to recast, or use a CG character. With the support and blessing from her daughter, Billie, we have found a way to honor Carrie’s legacy and role as Leia in Episode IX by using unseen footage we shot together in Episode VII.””

Star Wars: Episode IX will be produced by Kathleen Kennedy, J.J. Abrams, and Michelle Rejwan, and executive produced by Callum Greene and Jason McGatlin. The crew includes Dan Mindel (Director of Photography), Rick Carter and Kevin Jenkins (Co-Production Designers), Michael Kaplan (Costume Designer), Neal Scanlan (Creature and Droid FX), Maryann Brandon and Stefan Grube (Editors), Roger Guyett (VFX Supervisor), Tommy Gormley (1st AD), and Victoria Mahoney (2nd Unit Director).

Fans still have a wait, Star War Episode IX will release in December 2019.