Universal’s “Get Out” is already a well-documented success for the studio, having grossed over $254M worldwide and captivating audiences the world over. This week the film led the Washington, D.C. Area Film Critics Association (WAFCA) honorees, taking home Best Film and Best Original Screenplay for writer-director Jordan Peele. Christopher Nolan claimed Best Director for his World War II thriller “Dunkirk.” The Washington, D.C. Area Film Critics Association comprises 52 DC-VA-MD-based film critics from television, radio, print and the Internet. Voting was conducted from December 5-7, 2017.

WAFCA awarded Best Actor to Gary Oldman this year, while Frances McDormand won the Best Actress award for “Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri.” Other acting honors for that film went to Sam Rockwell as Best Supporting Actor and Best Acting Ensemble for the cast as a whole. Best Supporting Actress was awarded to Laurie Metcalf in “Lady Bird,” and Dee Rees and Virgil Williams earned Best Adapted Screenplay accolades for “Mudbound.” Pixar’s touching family adventure “Coco,” set during Mexico’s annual Day of the Dead celebration, was awarded Best Animated Feature. The lead of “CoCo,” 13-year-old Anthony Gonzalez, earned Best Voice Performance. Andy Serkis claimed the award for Best Motion Capture Performance as Caesar in “War for the Planet of the Apes.” Brooklynn Prince clinched the Best Youth Performance category for “The Florida Project,” and Best Documentary went to “Jane” and “BPM (Beats Per Minute),” Robin Campillo’s touching story of the HIV/AIDS epidemic in 1990s France, took Best Foreign Language Film honors.

Denis Villeneuve’s visionary sci-fi sequel “Blade Runner 2049” almost took home all of the technical categories, including Best Cinematography, Best Production Design, and Best Original Score. Best Editing was awarded to “Baby Driver,” a music-fueled heist picture directed by Edgar Wright. The Joe Barber Award for Best Portrayal of Washington, DC, given each year in honor of one of WAFCA’s cherished late members, went to Steven Spielberg’s journalism drama “The Post.”


Best Film: Get Out

Best Director: Christopher Nolan (Dunkirk)

Best Actor: Gary Oldman (Darkest Hour)

Best Actress: Frances McDormand (Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri)

Best Supporting Actor: Sam Rockwell (Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri)

Best Supporting Actress: Laurie Metcalf (Lady Bird)

Best Acting Ensemble: Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

Best Youth Performance: Brooklynn Prince (The Florida Project)

Best Voice Performance: Anthony Gonzalez (Coco)

Best Motion Capture Performance: Andy Serkis (War for the Planet of the Apes)

Best Original Screenplay: Jordan Peele (Get Out)

Best Adapted Screenplay: Virgil Williams and Dee Rees (Mudbound)

Best Animated Feature: Coco

Best Documentary: Jane

Best Foreign Language Film: BPM (Beats Per Minute)

Best Production Design: Production Designer: Dennis Gassner;

Set Decorator: Alessandra Querzola (Blade Runner 2049)

Best Cinematography: Roger A. Deakins, ASC, BSC (Blade Runner 2049)

Best Editing: Paul Machliss, ACE; Jonathan Amos, ACE (Baby Driver)

Best Original Score: Hans Zimmer and Benjamin Wallfisch (Blade Runner 2049)

The Joe Barber Award for Best Portrayal of Washington, DC: The Post