The parties, screenings, and press-tours have finally come to an end at the 70th Festival de Cannes. The twelve-day event came to a close this weekend, capped off with the popular award ceremony. The annual event celebrates the films, actors, and creators from this year’s collection. Taking the stage at the Grand Théâtre Lumière, were Mistress of Ceremonies Monica Bellucci and the Feature Film Jury. This year’s Jury was presided over by Pedro Almodóvar, who announced this year’s winners.

Taking the top-prize this year, the Palme d’Or, was “The Square”. The Swedish comedy was directed by Ruben Ostlund, and featured Claes Bang and Elisabeth Moss. It’s very rare that a comedy takes home the Palme d’Or, and the film beat out some high-profile dramas and documentaries for the prize. The drama “120 Beats Per Minute” was awarded the Grand Prix prize, and the Russian film “Loveless” took home the third-place equivalent.

Of all the headlines that came out of Cannes this year, Sofia Coppola winning the award for best-director was the highest, and lowest, point of the event. The popular director took home the award for Best Director in this year’s event, but in doing so, reminded the world that she is only the second woman in Cannes 70-year history to do so. The last woman to win the award did so 56 years ago, and it’s not a statistic that the filmmaking industry should be happy about. Two out of seventy is not the best ratio of male and female winners to have, and the Oscars certainly aren’t that much better. Coppola won for her upcoming southern thriller “The Beguiled” (shown above). Nicole Kidman is one of the many stars of that film, and she was at Cannes promoting her four works showcasing at the event. Kidman won a special prize this year awarded during the 70th Anniversary of the Cannes Film Festival.

The Best Actor award also went to an American, Joaquin Phoenix, for his work in “Were Never Really Here,” and Diane Kruger took home Best Actress for her work in the drama “In the Fade”. You can check-out the list of winners below.

Cannes Film Festival Winners

Palme d’Or: The Square, Ruben Östlund

Best Actor: Joaquin Phoenix, You Were Never Really Here

Best Actress: Diane Kruger, In the Fade

Best Director: Sofia Coppola, The Beguiled

2017 Special Prize: Nicole Kidman

Jury Prize: Loveless, Andrey Zvyagintsev

Best Screenplay: The Killing of a Sacred Deer, Yorgos Lanthimos and Efthimis Filippou; You Were Never Really Here, Lynne Ramsay