The hit series “Shameless” premiered its seventh season-finale this week, but the network won’t keep fans in suspense about the possibility of an eighth season. Showtime officially confirmed that the series will return in 2017 with new episodes, the announcement was made by David Nevins, President and CEO, Showtime Networks Inc. The show has been a seven-year hit for the network, fans should be happy to hear that a new season is already being written.

This will make “Shameless” one of Showtime’s longest-running and most successful series ever. The network announced today that the show’s seventh season ranked as its highest-rated season to date. The series stars Oscar nominee and Emmy winner William H. Macy and Golden Globe nominee Emmy Rossum.

As for the new episodes, production will begin in 2017 and season seven will contain twelve episodes in total. The show itself was created by Paul Abbott and developed for U.S. television by John Wells.

As season seven of Shameless came to an end, the Gallaghers dealt with the loss of one of their own, and grappled with mixed feelings about their grief. Fiona (Rossum) had to once again care for Frank (Macy) in his time of need, while Frank had a new scheme in mind.

Along with Macy and Rossum, the series stars Jeremy Allen White, Ethan Cutkosky, Shanola Hampton, Steve Howey, Emma Kenney, Cameron Monaghan and Isidora Goreshter. Season seven featured recurring special guest stars Noel Fisher, Chloe Webb, Sharon Lawrence, Tate Ellington, Ruby Modine, Arden Myrin, June Squibb, Alicia Coppola and Pasha Lychnikoff.

“Shameless” is produced by Bonanza Productions in association with John Wells Productions and Warner Bros. Television. The series’ seventh season was executive produced by John Wells, Nancy M. Pimental, Christopher Chulack, Krista Vernoff, Etan Frankel and Sheila Callaghan. The show will return to Showtime in 2017.

Showtime also released the first trailer for “Homeland” season six. The Emmy and Golden Globe-winning drama-series will premiere on Sunday, January 15 at 9 p.m. ET/PT.

Back on U.S. soil, this season focuses on the aftermath of a U.S. presidential election and the transition between election day and the inauguration for a president-elect, played by acclaimed stage and screen actress Elizabeth Marvel.

The network also confirmed a few guest stars for the new season, including Hill Harper (Limitless), Robert Knepper (Prison Break), Patrick Sabongui (The Flash), Jake Weber (Medium) and Dominic Fumusa (NURSE JACKIE).

Currently in production in New York, HOMELAND stars Emmy, Screen Actors Guild and Golden Globe Award winner Claire Danes, Emmy nominee Rupert Friend, Elizabeth Marvel, Oscar winner and Emmy nominee F. Murray Abraham, and Emmy and Tony Award winner Mandy Patinkin. You can watch the season 6 trailer below, from the official YouTube page.

Produced by Fox 21 Television Studios, HOMELAND was developed for American television by Alex Gansa and Howard Gordon, and is based on the original Israeli series Prisoners of War by Gideon Raff. Along with Gansa and Gordon, the executive producers for season six will be Chip Johannessen, Lesli Linka Glatter, Michael Klick, Patrick Harbinson, Claire Danes, Gideon Raff, Avi Nir and Ran Telem.