Supergirl is getting ready to start protecting humanity from the CW network, the series was recently moved from CBS to the CW. The network change should make it easier for Supergirl to team-up with her DC comrades like The Flash and Arrow, which also appear on the CW and not CBS.

One of the big additions to the second season will be Supergirl’s cousin, Kal-El (or Superman as we call him). Teasing the second season, CBS released the first image of Tyler Hoechlin seen standing with Melissa Benoist in their super-costumes, both of which were designed by Kiersten Ronning. The second season is scheduled to premiere Oct. 10 on The CW.

The Supergirl series became a popular DC drama for CBS when it premiered last year. The story follows the DC character Kara Zor-El, who in the beginning was keeping her powers a secret on Earth. The show picks up as she decides to start using her superhuman abilities and be the hero she was always meant to be.

In Supergirl twelve-year-old Kara escaped the doomed planet Krypton with her parents’ help at the same time as the infant Kal-El. Protected and raised on Earth by her foster family, the Danvers, Kara grew up in the shadow of her foster sister, Alex, and learned to conceal the phenomenal powers she shares with her famous cousin in order to keep her identity a secret.

Years later at 24, Kara lives in National City assisting media mogul and fierce taskmaster Cat Grant. She works alongside her friend and IT technician Winn Schott and famous photographer James Olsen, who Grant just hired away from the Daily Planet to serve as her new art director. However, Kara’s days of keeping her talents a secret are over when Hank Henshaw, head of a super-secret agency where her sister also works, enlists her to help them protect the citizens of National City from sinister threats.

The show is based on characters created by Jerry Siegel and Joe Shuster, SUPERGIRL is from Berlanti Productions in association with Warner Bros. Television, with executive producers Greg Berlanti (“The Flash,” “Arrow”), Ali Adler (“The New Normal,” “Glee”), Andrew Kreisberg (“The Flash,” “Arrow”) and Sarah Schechter (“Arrow,” “The Flash”).