As promised earlier this month, the cast of “Suicide Squad” debuted a new trailer for the highly-anticipated summer blockbuster during the MTV Movie Awards.

Warner Bros. Pictures premiered the trailer during the awards, which were taped last night in California. The new trailer offers a better look at the DC Comics’ super villain team that will be attacking the box-office this summer.

Written and directed by David Ayer (Fury, End of Watch) and based on the characters from DC Comics, Suicide Squad assembles a team of the world’s most dangerous, incarcerated Super Villains, provides them with the most powerful arsenal at the government’s disposal, and sends them off on a mission to defeat an enigmatic, insuperable entity. U.S. intelligence officer Amanda Waller has determined only a secretly convened group of disparate, despicable individuals with next to nothing to lose will do.

The studio teases, “Once they realize they weren’t picked to succeed but chosen for their patent culpability when they inevitably fail, will the Suicide Squad resolve to die trying, or decide it’s every man for himself?”

The film stars Will Smith, Jared Leto, Margot Robbie, Joel Kinnaman, Viola Davis, Jai Courtney, Jay Hernandez, Adewale Akinnuoye-Agbaje, Ike Barinholtz, Scott Eastwood, Cara Delevingne, Adam Beach, and Karen Fukuhara in her feature film debut. It is produced by Charles Roven and Richard Suckle, with Zack Snyder, Deborah Snyder, Colin Wilson and Geoff Johns serving as executive producers.

Distributed worldwide by Warner Bros. Pictures, the film opens in 3D, 2D and in select IMAX 3D theaters beginning August 5, 2016.

“Star Wars: The Force Awakens” was the big hit of the MTV Movie Awards, but superheroes certainly held their own in the event. You can read the full list of winners from Saturday night’s award show here, if you don’t mind the spoilers. The full-length awards show will also be made available on, as well as clips and images from the event after the show.