Pixar tops Annie Awards with “Inside Out,” Revenant’s Bear wins

inside out abcdisney Pixar

The 43rd Annie Awards were held last night at UCLA’s Royce Hall, celebrating the best animation of 2015. While numerous studios left with awards, it was Pixar Animation Studios that was awarded the night’s best award.

“Inside Out” won Best Animated Feature along with 11 other categories, including Outstanding Music – Michael Giacchino; Outstanding Editing – Kevin Nolting; Outstanding Production Design – Ralph Eggleston; Outstanding Voice Acting – Phyllis Smith as ‘Sadness’; Outstanding Writing – Pete Docter, Meg LeFauve and Josh Cooley; and Best Directing – Pete Docter.

This year was the first for the new category Best Animated Feature, Independent with Filme de Papel’s ‘Boy and the World’ taking this top honor.

The Best Animated Special Production was awarded to ‘He Named Me Malala’ (Parkes-MacDonald/Little Door); the Best Animated Short Subject went to ‘World of Tomorrow’ (Don Hertzfeldt).

The award for Best Animated TV/Broadcast Commercial went to ‘Man and Dog’ (Psyop) and Best General Audience Animated TV/Broadcast Production for Preschool Children went to the new Amazon series ‘Tumble Leaf’.

As for Best Animated TV/Broadcast Production for Children, that award was given to ‘Wander Over Yonder’ – The Breakfast (Disney Television Animation).

Simpsons fans can celebrate the Best Animated TV/Broadcast Production for a General Audience, ‘The Simpsons: Halloween of Horror” from Gracie Films in Association with 20th Century Fox Television won that award.

Oscar hopeful “The Revenant” won an award for Outstanding Achievement for Character Animation in a Live Action Production. ‘The Revenant’ won for the Bear that mauls Leonardo DiCaprio in the film from Regency Enterprises, New Regency Pictures, Anonymous Content, M Productions, Appian Way and RatPac-Dune Entertainment.

This year’s Best Student Film ‘ed’ was won by Sheridan College – Taha Neyestani).

“The Annies are drawing more attention from both our industry and the general motion picture industry,” said ASIFA-Hollywood Executive Director, Frank Gladstone. “We wait all year for this event and it never disappoints! It was a fun evening looking back at our history and celebrating what we have accomplished over this past year.”

Presenting the coveted Annie trophies this year were actor, producer & director Edward James Olmos with actress Rita Moreno; actor & writer Tom Kenny (SpongeBob SquarePants) with actress Laraine Newman (Dawn Of The Croods); actors Alexander Garfin and Hadley Belle Miller (“Linus and Lucy” from The Peanuts Movie) & Snoopy via Video; actress Kristen Schaal (Bob’s Burgers), composerChristophe Beck; Phyllis Smith (voice of ‘Sadness’ from Inside Out) with Bing Bong (Richard Kind) via video; Anomalisa co-directors Charlie Kaufman and Duke Johnson, John Musker and ASIFA-Hollywood President, Jerry Beck and Executive Director, Frank Gladstone.

This year’s Juried Award recipients included Winsor McCay lifetime achievement award – Joe Ranft (posthumously), Phil Roman and Isao Takahata. The Winsor McCay Award is one of the highest honors given to an individual in the animation industry in recognition for career contributions to the art of animation. Don Hahn was this year’s June Foray award recipient which honors an individual who has given significant and benevolent contributions to the art and industry of animation.

Each year the Annie Awards honor overall excellence as well as individual achievement in a total of 36 categories from best feature, best feature – independent, production design, character animation, and effects animation to storyboarding, writing, music, editing and voice acting, and have often been a predictor of the annual Academy Award for Best Animated Feature.

The ceremony was live-streamed again this year, allowing fans of animation to watch the show. If you would like a complete list of all 36 categories, you can find them on the official website for the awards.