It was a touching moment when this year’s winners were crowned at the conclusion of Dancing With the Stars season 21 this year. The winning duo took home the Mirror Ball Trophy late Tuesday night. The live-opening was held at the popular L.A. Grove and each duo offered a dance. It was Tom Bergeron and Erin Andrews, the hosts of the evening, that announced the winners to conclude this season.

Pro dancer Derek Hough and his partner Bindi Irwin, daughter of the late Crocodile Hunter Steve Irwin, won the season’s trophy this year. The event took place in front of a live audience on ABC. The two winners performed a 24-hour fusion challenge, which judges Carrie Ann Inaba, Julianne Hough and Bruno Tonioli awarded a score of 30/30.

“Thank you so much for everything. I can’t believe that I’m here,” Irwin said. “Thank you for changing my life.” The pair managed to beat the other two fan-favorites, Sharna Burgess and Nick Carter. “This experience was a bonding experience. It was something that I will always remember,” Carter said. “Bindi deserved it. She kicked butt.”

Third place went to Alek Skarlatos and pro partner Lindsay Arnold. Earlier this week ABC announced that “Dancing with the Stars” will return for its 22nd season in 2016 on MONDAY, MARCH 21 (8:00-10:01 p.m., ET).

“Dancing with the Stars,” produced by BBC Worldwide Productions, prepares for more glitz, glamour and sequins in 2016. With an all-new cast of celebrities ready to take on the competition and hit the ballroom floor, it will be another season full of surprises and unforgettable dances.

“Dancing with the Stars” is the hit reality series in which celebrities perform choreographed dance routines, which are judged by a panel of renowned ballroom experts and voted on by viewers. Fans have another four-months before the popular reality competition will hit the air once again.