One Direction to perform at American Music Awards

ABC had a huge announcement for 1D fans this morning, the network confirmed today that One Direction will perform at the “2015 American Music Awards.” The group will join host and performer Jennifer Lopez, as well as 5 Seconds of Summer, Selena Gomez and Carrie Underwood. 

The “2015 American Music Awards” will broadcast live from the Microsoft Theater in Los Angeles on Sunday, November 22 at 8:00pm ET on ABC. 

One Direction — composed of Niall Horan, Liam Payne, Harry Styles and Louis Tomlinson — formed in 2010 on the U.K.’s award-winning TV talent show “The X Factor.” The group’s debut single, “What Makes You Beautiful,” was released in September 2011 and went straight to #1 in the U.K., with their first album, “Up All Night,” following suit and also topping the Billboard album chart in the U.S. The release of their second album, “Take Me Home,” took One Direction to #1 in 37 countries. Their third album, “Midnight Memories,” was announced as the biggest selling album globally of 2013. One Direction’s fourth #1 studio album, “FOUR” featured hit singles “Steal My Girl” and “Night Changes.”

The album made Billboard history as the only group in the 58-year history of the chart to see their first four albums debut at number one. The band has sold more than 50 million records worldwide, achieved a total of 91 number ones, and is the recipient of five Billboard Music Awards, four MTV Video Music Awards and five American Music Awards, among others. They have a massive 115 million Twitter followers and 38 million Facebook fans.

One Direction surprised fans in July 2015 with the release of their single “Drag Me Down,” breaking the record for the most streams of any one song in a single week at the time. The band’s fifth studio album ‘MADE IN THE A.M.’ is set to be released on November 13, 2015.

This year Taylor Swift leads the “2015 American Music Awards” nominees with six nominations. Ed Sheeran and The Weeknd tie with five nominations each, while Sam Hunt, Nicki Minaj, Sam Smith, Meghan Trainor and Walk the Moon earn three nominations each.  Additionally, Jason Aldean, Chris Brown, Luke Bryan, Drake, Fetty Wap, Florida Georgia Line, Ariana Grande, Maroon 5, Bruno Mars, One Direction, Charlie Puth, Rihanna, Mark Ronson and Wiz Khalifa each receive two nominations.

The Song of The Year nominees are Wiz Khalifa Featuring Charlie Puth “See You Again,” Mark Ronson Featuring Bruno Mars “Uptown Funk!,” Ed Sheehan “Thinking Out Loud,” Taylor Swift “Blank Space” and The Weeknd “Can’t Feel My Face.”

The Artist of the Year nominees are Luke Bryan, Ariana Grande, Maroon 5, Nicki Minaj, One Direction, Ed Sheeran, Sam Smith, Taylor Swift, Meghan Trainor and The Weeknd.

Tags : ABC