At San-Diego Comic-Con, just after AMC released the trailer for ‘The Walking Dead’ season six, the network officially announced that ‘Fear the Walking Dead’ will premiere in August.

The official premiere date is now set at August 23, 2015. “Fear the Walking Dead” will be a companion series to the ‘Walking Dead,’ with events happening before the original ‘Walking Dead’ began.

The new series will be set in Los Angeles and focused on new characters and storylines. The show’s first season will consist of six one-hour episodes, while the second season will air in 2016.

Robert Kirkman, Gale Anne Hurd, Greg Nicotero and David Alpert from “The Walking Dead” are executive producers of the new series, which, like the original, is being produced by AMC Studios.

Dave Erickson (“Marco Polo,” “Sons of Anarchy”), who co-created and co-wrote the pilot with Kirkman, is an executive producer and showrunner. The series will star Cliff Curtis (“Missing,” “Gang Related”), Kim Dickens (Gone Girl, “Sons of Anarchy”), Frank Dillane (Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince) and Alycia Debnam Carey (Into the Storm).