MTV has released the first eight-minutes of the new series “Scream,” which is set to premiere on Tuesday, June 30 at 10:00p.m.

“Scream” is based on the international hit horror franchise of the same name. The series will have a new plot this time around. After a cyber-bullying incident results in a brutal murder, the shocking violence stirs up memories of a killing spree from the past that has haunted some, intrigued others and maybe just inspired a new killer.

A group of teens – with two old friends struggling to reconnect at its heart – become lovers, enemies, suspects, targets and victims of a killer who’s out for blood.

The pilot was written by Jay Beattie & Dan Dworkin (“Criminal Minds,” “The Event” and “Revenge”) and Jill Blotevogel. Additional Executive Producers are Wes Craven, Tony DiSanto, Liz Gateley, Marianne Maddalena and Cathy Konrad.

MTV and Dimension TV (The Weinstein Company) bring the series adaptation of the hit horror film franchise, “Scream” to television with Bob and Harvey Weinstein as Executive Producers. In addition, Jill Blotevogel (“Harper’s Island,” “Ravenswood”) and Jaime Paglia (“Arrow”) will executive produce and show run, with John Shiban (“Hell on Wheels,” “Breaking Bad”) on board as a consulting producer.