Earlier today nine Supreme Court justices decided if individual states can reserve the right to ban gay marriage, as well if states should have to recognize gay marriages that is granted in other states within the Union.

After the ruling, the Supreme Court has officially stated that the 14th Amendment requires individual states to license a same-sex marriage, and can no longer decide amongst themselves if it is legal or not. Making same-sex marriage legal in all 50 states.

The review came when the Supreme Court reviewed an appellate court’s earlier decision to uphold gay marriage bans in the states of Michigan, Kentucky, Ohio and Tennessee; the case was Obergefell v. Hodges.

In a final 5-4 decision the decision passed in favor of same-sex marriage. “From their beginning to their most recent page, the annals of human history reveal the transcendent importance of marriage,” Justice Anthony Kennedy stated after the ruling.

“Far from seeking to devalue marriage, the petitioners seek it for themselves because of their respect—and need—for its privileges and responsibilities,” Justice Anthony Kennedy continued. “And their immutable nature dictates that same-sex marriage is their only real path to this profound commitment.”