As usual the Tribeca Film Festival proved to be a wonderful collection of films, documentaries and shorts. With the closing events just a few days away, the winners for the 2015 TRIBECA FILM FESTIVAL have been announced, with only a few closing screenings yet to take place. In total, there were 60 short films, 101 features and five storytelling projects highlighted at this year’s festival. The films, stretching across almost every genres of cinema, came from 38 different countries this year.

The event is one of the best that New York City has to offer, and is still one of the greatest showcases of independent cinema and foreign-films that takes place in the United States. This year twenty-four films made up the World Narrative and World Documentary sections at the festival, that includes twelve narrative and twelve documentary films.

The Best New Director prizes were chosen to first-time directors, from the narrative and documentary categories, consisting of 26 feature films. There was also a small change this year, the Best New Documentary Director Award, was renamed to the Albert Maysles New Documentary Director Award. Philip Maysles and Sara Maysles, the children of the late Albert Maysles, were on hand to give-out the award named after their father.

Two sponsored awards were also given out, those were the The BOMBAY SAPPHIRE Storyscapes Award, and the Nora Ephron Prize that was sponsored by Coach.

The Founders Award for Best Narrative Feature – Dagu Kári for Virgin Mountain

Best Editing in a Narrative Feature Film – Oliver Bugge Coutté for Bridgend
Best Actor in a Narrative Feature Film – Gunnar Jónsson for Virgin Mountain
Best Cinematography in a Narrative Feature Film – Magnus Jønck for Bridgend
Best Actress in a Narrative Feature Film – Hannah Murray for Brigend
Best Screenplay for a Narrative Feature Film – Dagur Kári for Virgin Mountain

Albert Maysles Award for Best New Documentary Director– Anna Sandilands, Ewan McNicol for Uncertain Uncertain.
Albert Maysles Award for Best New Documentary Director, Special Jury Mention – Erik Shirai for Birth of Saké

Best New Narrative Director: Zachary Treitz for Men Go to Battle
Best New Narrative Director, Special Jury Mention – Stephen Fingleton for The Survivalist

Nora Ephron Prize – Laura Bispuri for Sworn Virgin
Nora Ephron Prize, Special Jury Award – Being 14

Bombay Sapphire Storyscapes Award – Door into the Dark

Best Documentary Short – Body Team 12
Best Documentary Short, Special Jury Mention – We Live This

Best Narrative Short – Listen
Best Narrative Short, Special Jury Prize – The Statistical Analysis of Your Failing Relationship

Student Visionary Award – Nina Thyberg for Catwalk
Student Visionary Award, Special Jury Mention – Kingdom of Garbage

Best Documentary Feature – Camilla Nielsson for Democrats
Best Documentary Feature, Special Jury Mention – In Transit

Best Editing in a Documentary Feature – Valerio Bonelli for Palio

On April 25, 2015 the winners of of the Audience Awards, sponsored by AT&T, will be announced.