One of the expected winners tonight, Eddie Redmayne has won the Oscar for Best Actor for his work in “The Theory of Everything” directed by James Marsh. Anthony McCarten wrote the screenplay, which was based off the book written by Jane Hawking. Redmayne starred alongside Felicity Jones and Tom Prior.

Steve Carell was nominated for “Foxcatcher” written by E. Max Frye and Dan Futterman and directed by Bennett Miller. Starring with Steve Carell were Channing Tatum and Mark Ruffalo.

Bradley Cooper was nominated for the extremely popular film “American Sniper,” directed by Clint Eastwood. The film also stars Sienna Miller and Kyle Gallner.

Benedict Cumberbatch was nominated for “The Imitation Game,” directed by Morten Tyldum, working off a screenplay by Graham Moore. The film is based on the original book written by Andrew Hodges. The popular film starred Benedict Cumberbatch, Keira Knightley and Matthew Goode.

Michael Keaton was nominated for Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance) written by Alejandro G. Iñárritu, Nicolás Giacobone, Alexander Dinelaris, Jr. and Armando Bo. The film was directed by Alejandro González Iñárritu, and starred Michael Keaton, Zach Galifianakis, Edward Norton and Emma Stone.