One of the more exciting Oscars given out during the Academy Awards is for Best Director. This year Alejandro González Iñárritu won for his work on “Birdman,” a film that he also wrote with Nicolás Giacobone, Alexander Dinelaris, Jr. and Armando Bo. The film starred Michael Keaton, Zach Galifianakis, Edward Norton and Emma Stone.

Richard Linklater was nominated for his work on “Boyhood,” a film that he wrote as well. The film featured Ellar Coltrane, Patricia Arquette and Ethan Hawke.

Bennett Miller was nominated in the category for “Foxcatcher,” working off a screenplay written by E. Max Frye and Dan Futterman. The film starred Steve Carell, Channing Tatum and Mark Ruffalo.

Wes Anderson was nominated for “The Grand Budapest Hotel,” Anderson also wrote the screenplay for the film based off the story he wrote with Hugo Guinness. “The Grand Budapest Hotel” starred Ralph Fiennes, F. Murray Abraham and Mathieu Amalric.

The “The Imitation Game” was directed by Morten Tyldum, working off a screenplay by Graham Moore, from the original book written by Andrew Hodges. The popular film starred Benedict Cumberbatch, Keira Knightley and Matthew Goode.