Marvel Studios released several major announcements this afternoon at a press-event in Hollywood, including a few new movies in the works, and titles for the films that have already been announced.

Of the new movies that are now official are Black Panther, Captain Marvel (the first female to lead a superhero film), Doctor Strange and The Inhumans. Marvel also announced that “The Avengers 3″ will be split into two films, just like ‘The Hunger Games,’ ‘Divergent,’ ‘Harry Potter’ and ‘Twilight’ have done in the past. The two films will be called “Avengers: Infinity War,” (one and two) and will release on May 4, 2018 and 2019.

Marvel also announced the title for the third Captain America film, now called ‘Captain America: Serpent Society’. The film is expected to cover the Civil-War story-line that has Captain America battle Iron Man. The two iconic characters are on different sides of a regulation that forces superheroes to register with the government. The third Captain America film will once again be directed by Joe and Anthony Russo, that film will release on May 6th, 2016.

Actor Chadwick Boseman is set to play the role of Black Panther and will make an appearance in “Captain America 3: Civil War.”

Kevin Feige also took the time to announce the title of the next Thor film, now called “Thor: Ragnarok.”

Release Dates for the films that were announced include: 

  • Captain America 3: Civil War – May 6, 2016
  • Doctor Strange – Nov. 6, 2016
  • Guardians of the Galaxy 2 – May 5, 2017
  • Thor: Ragnarok – July 20, 2018
  • Black Panther – Nov. 3, 2017
  • The Avengers 3 – Infinity War: Part 1 – May 4, 2018
  • Captain Marvel – July 6, 2018
  • Inhumans – Nov. 2, 2018
  • The Avengers 3 – Infinity War: Part 2 – 2019

More information on all of these films will be announced as each of the projects move along in production.