julia-louis-dreyfus-insertThe latest inductees to The Television Academy’s Hall of Fame were announced today, with Julia Louis-Dreyfus and Rupert Murdoch among those selected. The Selection Committee made the announcement early Monday morning, with six individuals chosen this year. On the list were Jay Leno, Rupert Murdoch, Julia Louis-Dreyfus, Ray Dolby, David E. Kelley and Brandon Stoddard. The ceremony will be held on March 11, 2014.
This marks the 23rd event for the TV Academy, who holds the selection process each year. “The six individuals being inducted into the Hall of Fame have all made a profound impact on the landscape of television, leaving their own mark within our industry and with audiences around the world,” said Academy chairman and CEO Bruce Rosenblum. The CEO added, “Their groundbreaking contributions will last for generations, making them true icons who could not be more deserving of the Television Academy’s highest honor.”
Julia Louis-Dreyfus was the only actor in this year’s class, Jay Leno earns the nomination as he ends his career on the Tonight Show (again) with Jimmy Fallon set to take over the show going forward.