Last night (Sunday) was the first-ever ‘Youtube Music Awards’ and although the concert seemed a little more spontaneous and ramshackle than your typical award show, the event went off without any major complications. It was Macklmore & Ryan Lewis that received the first ever ‘Breakthrough of the Year’ award but it was famed rapper and actor Eminem that took home the top-award as ‘Artist of the Year’. Here are your official winners and nominees.
Breakthrough of the Year
WINNER: Macklemore & Ryan Lewis

  • Kendrick Lamaar
  • Naughty Boy
  • Passenger
  • Rudimental

Response of the Year
WINNER: Lindsey Stirling and Pentatonix, “Radioactive”

  • Boyce Avenue (feat. Fifth Harmony) “Mirrors”
  • Jayesslee, “Gangnam Style”
  • ThePianoGuys, “Titanium/Pavane”
  • Walk Off the Earth (feat. KRNFX), “I Knew You Were Trouble”

Innovation of the Year
WINNER: DeStorm, “See Me Standing”

  • Anamanaguchi, “Endless Fantasy”
  • Atoms For Peace, “Ingenue”
  • Bat For Lashes, “Lilies”
  • Toro Y Moi, “Say That”

YouTube Phenomenon
WINNER: “I Knew You Were Trouble”

  • “Diamonds”
  • “Gangnam Style”
  • “Harlem Shake”
  • “Thrift Shop”

Video of the Year
WINNER: Girls’ Generation “I Got A Boy”

  • Demi Lovato, “Heart Attack”
  • Epic Rap Battles Of History, “Barack Obama vs Mitt Romney”
  • Justin Bieber (feat. Nicki Minaj), “Beauty and a Beat”br> Lady Gaga, “Applause”
  • Macklemore & Ryan Lewis (feat. Mary Lambert) “Same Love”
  • Miley Cyrus, “We Can’t Stop”
  • One Direction, “Best Song Ever”
  • PSY, “Gentleman”
  • Selena Gomez, “Come & Get It”

Artist of the Year
WINNER: Eminem

  • Epic Rap Battles Of History
  • Justin Bieber
  • Katy Perry
  • Macklemore & Ryan Lewis
  • Nicki Minaj
  • One Direction
  • Psy
  • Rihanna
  • Taylor Swift