A night of terrific films, Tribeca Film Festival announces its winners

Robert De Niro himself is mostly responsible for the creation of The Tribeca Film Festival, the actor has many coals in the fire when it comes to the Tribeca neighborhood and is still an active participant in the annual awards. Now that film-festival has named its winners for 2013.
The prize winners were officially announced late last night. Non-fiction was judged by Mira Sorvino, Whoopi Goldberg, Joe Berlinger, Evan Rachel Wood and Sandi DuBowski. In these categories ‘Best Documentary Feature’ went to “The Kill Team,” from Dan Krauss’s. The story of U.S. soldiers on trial for killing Afghanistan citizens for fun. Best New Documentary Director went to Sean Dunne for “Oxyana,” a look at the rising culture of prescription drug abuse in a small community; the project also recieved the Special Jury Mention and almost won Best Documentary Feature.
“Let the Fire Burn” about the the struggle between the Philadelphia police and the African-American organization MOVE, won Best Documentary Editing thanks to Nels Bangerter work, it also took home a Special Jury Mention . “Lil Bub and Friendz,” won Best Feature Film in the on-line category. In the same online-voting system, the Best Short went to “A Short Film About Guns,” a film about illegal firearms.
The jury this year for the 2013 Narrative Film competition consisted of Jessica Winter, Paul Haggis, Kenneth Lonergan, Blythe Danner and Bryce Dallas-Howard. Winning the ‘Best Narrative Feature’ trophy was “The Rocket,” from the Laotian filmmaker Kim Mordaunt. That film centered around a poor family facing many hardships who later discover a rocket in a nearby forrest. Sitthiphon Disamoe, who starred in the film, also won Best Actor honors in the film Ahlo.
“The Broken Circle Breakdown” from Felix van Groeningen’s was a story of two lovers, with very different backgrounds and ideals. That film won twice, Veerle Baetens in the film took home ‘Best Actress’ as Elise Vandevelde, and Carl Joos and Felix van Groeningen won ‘Best Screenplay’. Best Cinematography went to Marius Matzow Gulbrandsen, he was the Director of Photography in “Before Snowfall.”. That film follows a man from Kurdistan on a journey to find his sister who fled and embarrassed her family by not agreeing to an arranged marriage.
Best New Narrative Director is always a popular category, that honor went to Emanuel Hoss-Desmarais for “Whitewash”. This dark-comedy follows one man (Thomas Haden Church) who begins a doomed journey after partnering up with a stranger he meets on the road. “Stand Clear Of The Closing Doors” is a heartfelt look at the life of an autistic child living in the subway system under New York. That film was directed by Sam Fleischner and received a Special Jury Mention.
more info: tff

Related Posts