Game Developers Choice Awards winners, Journey the belle of the ball

Last night the Game Developers Choice Awards were held at the Moscone Center in San Francisco. We have the full list of winners for you below.
The clear winner of the night went to thatgamescompany’s ‘Journey’, who picked up six of the eleven major awards. These awards include (Best Audio, Best Game Design, Best Visual Arts, Best Downloadable Game, the Innovation Award, and the Game of the Year Award).
This shouldn’t come as a surprise, the PSN title has been winning awards almost since it was released last year. Other titles worth mentioning include Arkane Studios’ stealth-adventure title ‘Dishonored’ which won the Audience Award category. FTL: Faster than Light won Best Debut, while Best Narrative went to Telltale Games’ ‘The Walking Dead’.
In a special presentation, BioWare founders, Dr. Ray Muzyka and Dr. Greg Zeschuk , were honored by the Choice Awards Advisory Committee with the Lifetime Achievement Award for their contributions to the game development community. Fans of Bioware should remember this acclaimed duo as working on Baldur’s Gate, Neverwinter Nights, Knights of the Old Republic, Mass Effect and Dragon Age.

“This year we saw some amazing titles developed in the indie and downloadable game space, and the critical acclaim that titles like Journey, FTL: Faster Than Light, The Walking Dead, and The Room received could not have been more deserved,” said Meggan Scavio , General Manager of the Game Developers Conference. “2012 saw many exciting developments in the video game industry; I can’t wait to see what surprises 2013 will hold.”
The full list of recipients for the 13th Annual Game Developers Choice Awards are:
Best Downloadable Game

  • Journey (thatgamecompany)

Best Narrative

  • The Walking Dead (Telltale Games)

Best Visual Arts

  • Journey (thatgamecompany)

Ambassador Award

  • Chris Melissinos

Best Technology

  • Far Cry 3 (Ubisoft)

Best Game Design

  • Journey (thatgamecompany)

Best Handheld/Mobile Game

  • The Room (Fireproof Studios)

Best Audio

  • Journey (thatgamecompany)

Pioneer Award

  • Steve Russell

Best Debut

  • FTL: Faster Than Light (Subset Games)

Innovation Award

  • Journey (thatgamecompany)

Audience Choice Award

  • Dishonored (Arkane Studios)

Lifetime Achievement Award

  • Dr. Ray Muzyka and Dr. Greg Zeschuk

Game of the Year

  • Journey (thatgamecompany)
Related Posts